Happy National Cupcake Day!

cupcake

In observance of National Cupcake Day, I made sure to wear my t-shirt that says “Cupcakes…I’z Eatin’ Them” as I headed over to Los Feliz for a lazy Saturday afternoon of drinking and eating. I had gone to a few bakeries in search for the most delectable cupcake, but a number of them were out of cupcakes by the time I had finally left my house in the late afternoon. (Sadly, I can only blame myself for this.) So, I headed over to Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf for a little red velvet cupcake with cream cheese fix and it did the trick.

The real prize of the day was that I rolled into 1739 Public House – one of my favorite local pubs – for one of the best happy hour deals out there. Every day of the week, including weekends, patrons who order a beer at full price at $6.75 get a free personal cheese pizza. The pizza is surprisingly larger than expected for being free; the marinara sauce is sweet and the thin crust has a cheddar/mozzarella blend so stringy that every time you take a bite, you feel like a magician pulling a string of handkerchiefs out of a hat.

Their list of beers on tap is extensive – over 60 domestic and imported. Your senses will probably never be bored as there is every sport imaginable playing on the dozen or so large flat-screen TVs. (Since I’m not a particularly huge sports fan, it was a nice change of pace to see “Forbidden Planet” playing on one of their TVs today and Leslie Nielsen at age 30!)

Summer is the best time to visit this place, as there is an outdoor patio out front on the sidewalk (great for people watching and groups) and the large windows and doors open up for natural light to fill the bar.

Here is a full list of deals Public House offers:

-Mondays and Tuesdays, any meal on the menu is $7 or less

-Saturdays and Sundays from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., $9 brunch meals; $3 Bloody Mary or Mimosa with meal

-Mondays through Saturdays from 3 p.m. – 7 p.m. and Sundays from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m., free cheese pizza with any full priced beer (or cocktails over $6.75)

1739 Public House

1739 N. Vermont Blvd.

Los Angeles, CA 90027

http://www.1739PublicHouse.com/

Leave a Reply

